Wildflower Christmas (A Holiday Novella) (Third book in The Wildflower House Series) 

Wildflower Christmas - A Novella - 3rd story in The Wildflower House Series

Wildflower Christmas (A Novella)

(The Wildflower House series, Book 3)

Buy Links:

eBook Edition:

Print Edition:

TBD Barnes & Noble

Large Print Edition:

TBD IndieBound

TBD Books-A-Million

Women's Fiction

Publisher: Kersey Creek Books

Release Date: November 5, 2019

ISBN-13: 978-0-9996180-7-3 eBook   

ISBN-13: 978-0-9996180-8-0 Print

ISBN-13: 978-0-9996180-9-7 Large Print

The Wildflower House Series: In book #1, Wildflower Heart, Kara Hart, a thirty-two-year-old widow, moves to Wildflower House with her father who plans to renovate the old mansion. In book #2, Wildflower Hope, Kara takes her father's dream and makes it her own.

 

Now ~ Welcome to Wildflower House and a Christmas to remember.

In Wildflower Christmas, a Wildflower House novella, Kara is looking forward to a quiet holiday--just like the ones she's always known--but this year, instead of celebrating the holidays with her father in the city, she's at Wildflower House and she's alone. Kara is okay with a low-key Christmas because after hosting the hectic first official event at Wildflower House she's ready to enjoy some rest and relaxation before January arrives and the final renovations begin.

But fate--with an extra dose of Christmas spirit--intervenes as the people now in Kara's life show up. Some need favors and others have special gifts. If Kara is able to up her holiday game, she may find opportunities for new traditions she can build on for the future.

The Wildflower House Series

Wildflower Heart - January 22, 2019

Wildflower Hope - September 24, 2019

Wildflower Christmas - November 05, 2019

KIRKUS REVIEW  of WILDFLOWER HEART by Grace Greene

 

A widow recovering from a devastating accident finds hope and renewal in an unlikely place in this series opener.

Kara Lange Hart is no stranger to tragedy and loss. When Kara was 14 years old, her mother, Susan, abruptly left the family and was discovered dead two years later in Ohio. Later, Kara marries her college sweetheart, Niles, and moves to northern Virginia. After six years of marriage, she is thrilled to learn she is pregnant; but before she can tell Niles, the couple is involved in a car accident. Niles is killed instantly, and Kara suffers a miscarriage along with serious injuries. Bereft, Kara moves in with her father, Henry, to recuperate. When her father tells her that he is planning to purchase a Victorian mansion in an area of Louisa County called Cub Creek, she decides to move with him and stay until she can find a new job and place of her own. While the mansion needs renovating, Kara is struck by the property’s beauty, particularly the field of wildflowers behind the house. She soon befriends her new neighbors Nicole Albers, a real estate agent and close friend of her father’s, and Nicole’s brother, Seth, and settles into the quieter pace of life in Cub Creek. The move also prompts the usually reserved Henry to open up to Kara about his difficult childhood and the tragic circumstances of her mother’s death. Kara sees the possibility of a life in Cub Creek when a tragedy forces her to decide whether to leave her new friends or remain in the community she has grown to love.

This first installment of Greene’s (The Memory of Butterflies, 2017, etc.) Wildflower House series is an affecting and emotionally resonant tale of love, loss, and the possibility of second chances that’s bolstered by a winsome heroine, well-drawn supporting characters, and a nuanced story full of surprising twists and turns. Kara is a strong and dynamic protagonist whose physical and emotional recovery from the car accident that killed her husband lie at the center of the tale. She is surrounded by a vivid and likable supporting cast, including Henry, a dependable, hardworking man whose taciturn nature hides a secret sorrow; and Seth, a former journalist and self-described “guy-of-all-trades,” whose friendship with Kara slowly blossoms into something deeper and more significant. The setting plays a major role in the story, and the author deftly brings the community of Cub Creek and the Victorian mansion known as the Wildflower House to life, from the friendly real estate agent who knows whom to call to have something repaired to the descriptions of the breathtaking beauty of the wildflowers (“As a mass, they raised their bright faces to the sun, gathered its rays, and reflected the light from bloom to bloom, ultimately bouncing it back to greet my eyes”). The briskly paced narrative also includes several well-developed subplots, including Henry’s revelations about his past and Kara’s exploration of her marriage to Niles. The tale may appeal to fans of Debbie Macomber or Nicholas Sparks.

A poignant and heartfelt contemporary romance.

Pub Date: Jan. 22nd, 2019

ISBN: 978-1-5420-4060-0

Page count: 300pp

Publisher: Lake Union Publishing

Program: Kirkus Indie

Review Posted Online: Feb. 7th, 2019

Kirkus Reviews Issue: March 15th, 2019

Copyright 2015 Grace Greene and Kersey Creek Books